Anne from Little Britan
Anne from Little Britan
Boat Name: No Boat Yet

Newbie checking in.

Post by csonics » Wed Nov 18, 2009 2:20 am

Posted on behalf of 914Driver:

914Driver
Just Starting Out

Posted: Tue Jul 07, 2009 11:51 am Post subject: Newbie checking in.
Hello all,

I stumbled on to your site when researching steam engines for a boat. A fellow is selling an ex-Navy whale boat that's in my budget and I need more things to do.

http://albany.craigslist.org/boa/1233033822.html

My hobbies have always been around race cars, mostly Auto-X and track days, but I can't get the wife into it, I'm hoping the relaxed pace of a steam powered boat will get some family time moving.

The boat posted above is gutted except for a bronze rudder. My background is as a machinist, tool maker and quality control inspector, so whittling metal isn't a problem. Attached below are photos I took on the 4th of July at a local steam event, that kinda put a fire under my imagination. If you folks have any thoughts or suggestion on power plants, pitfalls to watch out for or any other guidance, I sure would appreciate it.

http://rides.webshots.com/album/573391922kAEako

Thanks and I look forward to hearing from you.

Dan

87gn@tahoe
Full Ahead

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 10:12 pm Post subject:
Welcome!

Those hulls are great, stable, building platforms as long as the wood is sound.

What you need to think about is what ype of fuel you would like to burn, wht type of water you'll be doing most of your steaming in (salt or fresh), what type of boiler and engines interest you the most.

Any ideas
-'64 Buick Riviera
-'65 Buick Special WAGON

914Driver
Just Starting Out

Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 4:33 am Post subject:
Morning,

Fresh water sailing, probably wood fired. As far as engines/boilers, that's why I'm here. I don't know one from another.

Dan

87gn@tahoe
Full Ahead

Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2009 9:56 pm Post subject:
These are GENERAL statements