Boat Name: No Boat Yet

Really new guy

Post by csonics » Wed Nov 18, 2009 2:46 am

Posted on behalf of Alphawolf45:

Alphawolf45
Just Starting Out

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:57 pm Post subject: Really new guy
My first post
.I am studying up to build my first steam engine, boiler and boat...I dont yet know much of anything about steam engines but I am persistant, can correct my own mistakes and very seldom ever finish a job that isnt acceptable to my generally low standards...Hehhehehh
.I have well equipped machineshop - even got a couple cnc mills, all big stuff,, and I do a lot of nonferrous metalscasting ..I have pushed tools for more than 30 years..Its been my work and my passion.
.My hobby workshop is 60 foot square downstairs plus a 20 by 40 foot space upstairs for restoring antique electronics....I am studying steam books to learn what I will need to know.. I am here to look at pictures and be inspired and possibly to share in the enthusiasm by showing pictures once work begins.....
Steven

Maltelec
Site Admin

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 4:46 pm Post subject:
Hi Steven

Sounds like you're well suited for steamboats. I've been designing my 1st engine, boiler and boat. Slightly controversial but then again I'd find a "normal" steam plant boring.

I also restore electronic junk. I've been through quite a few computers, though they mostly needed dusting out. I spent most of my time repairing them more than restoring electronics. My era is the 80's where all things were descrete components around an oversized underpowered IC. Lastest thing was a linear tracking LP player.

I work as an electronics technician and have a hobby of restoring anything mechanical or electronic. I recon electromechanical stuff is my favorate. I'd prefer to make things out of transistors and relays anyt day.

I like making things out of junk, and its amazing what you can use as I'm sure you know. Just because its made out of junk doesn't mean it has to look like junk though.