Hello from New Jersey (currently without a boat)

Read this first then introduce yourself here.
Tech_Viper
Just Starting Out
Just Starting Out
Boat Name: Zhanna

Hello from New Jersey (currently without a boat)

Post by Tech_Viper » Wed Apr 18, 2018 11:05 pm

Thank you all for welcoming me. I am a little different than the typical member here. I don’t own a steam boat. But my wonderful, father like, neighbor has built more steam boats (real and RC) than I can ever image I will get to.
He has been teaching me tons about steam, boats, machining, wood working, and many other related topics. All I can do is soak it up like a sponge.
I live in central NJ. While I’m the ‘computer guy’ my neighbor doesn’t like them at all so I don’t see him joining anytime soon. But don’t hold that against him or me please.
I’m an Army Veteran (still serving in the Reserves) and I currently work at the NJ State Police. (Don’t hold that against me either!)
Anyway, I’m looking forward to reading all I can here and joining the community.
Thanks again

Eric P
DetroiTug
Full Steam Ahead
Full Steam Ahead
Boat Name: Iron Chief

Re: Hello from New Jersey (currently without a boat)

Post by DetroiTug » Thu Apr 19, 2018 1:06 am

Hi Eric,

Thanks for joining and Welcome to the forum and no, you don't need a boat to participate, but if you hang around you'll undoubtedly wind up with one :D Like you, I've been fortunate too to have some very experienced steamfolk to buddy up with and have learned quite a bit from them.

If you have any questions at all, feel free to ask away.

-Ron
Lopez Mike
Full Steam Ahead
Full Steam Ahead
Boat Name: S.L. Spiffy

Post by Lopez Mike » Thu Apr 19, 2018 1:45 am

Yes, welcome to the forum. There is a lot experience and knowledge here. Ddon't be put off by the small tempests that erupt occasionally. Just read and make your own judgements.

And tell your neighbor that I have a brand new one meter long F.G. steam launch hull that I will sell for a very good price!!