Hello

Read this first then introduce yourself here.
Aheadslow
Warming the Engine
Warming the Engine
Boat Name: No Boat Yet

Hello

Post by Aheadslow » Sun May 16, 2010 12:01 am

This is just to say hello to everyone here, and of course to introduce myself. I am a mechanic by trade and a devote of steam by inclination, there is just something divine about the motion of a fine steam engine under power. having said that I live in the Midwest and although we have few steamboats if any in my area ,what we do have are Traction Engines , and not a few large stationary engines. Ive been around steam since I was six and have helped with the restoration of several fine old engines and a couple of boilers. But now I have decided that it is time to pursue my own version of the dream so to speak. I am only starting to lay down my plans still gotta decide on a hull and engine combination as these will dictate the size of boiler I'll need. I have what may seem like an endless list of questions,so I will thank you for your patience in advance. :D
Human beings have an inalienable right to invent themselves.
Edward
Full Steam Ahead
Full Steam Ahead

Re: Hello

Post by Edward » Sun May 16, 2010 12:24 am

Welcome to the Forum ,

I'm sure that between the membership we should be able to answer most questions , or at the very least steer you in the right direction . One word of warning (several actualy) : you'll often find that one question can elicit many answers all of which may be correct but different ; it's selecting the option that suits you best that is difficult !
I can't help you much with steamboating contacts in the Mid West as I'm in the UK but at least traction engines are steam although the people who run them are rather strange compared to steamboaters .

All the Best Edward
csonics
Anne from Little Britan
Anne from Little Britan

Post by csonics » Sun May 16, 2010 10:40 pm