First Water Test

Got a Steamboat? Then put a link and pictures in here and let us know about updates etc.
johnp
Full Steam Ahead
Full Steam Ahead
Boat Name: Cardinal Queen

First Water Test

Post by johnp » Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:16 pm

Well, it worked. i think i need more pitch on the prop. she seems to be using alot of steam and turning as high as 1000rpm. when i turn her down to 350ish the steam seems to maintain. the LWL is 213 1/4" she is 18' 3" LOL with a 5 1/2' beam. Plywood and epoxy, Ray Hasbrouck #10 2hp, 20sqft VFT, Wood burning. had her as fast as 4.5knts. but using alot of steam. Really had to put the wood to her. Maybe i need to switch to coal or better wood? or more pitch and slow down the engine. she was design for 400rpm. Possibly 14"x20". i can only go as large as 15" Diameter. Please any thoughts and suggestions are welcome. i'm new to the hobby and can use all the info i can get.

Attachments
photo 3.JPG
photo 3.JPG (140.06 KiB) Viewed 10698 times
photo 2.JPG
photo 2.JPG (140.71 KiB) Viewed 10698 times
photo 1.JPG
photo 1.JPG (184.29 KiB) Viewed 10698 times
Last edited by johnp on Tue Jul 03, 2012 11:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
DetroiTug
Full Steam Ahead
Full Steam Ahead
Boat Name: Iron Chief

Re: First Wate Test

Post by DetroiTug » Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:42 pm

Beautiful boat, you did a really nice job on it. The 2 hp engine scoots it right along.

Careful on changing to another prop, a few inches on diameter or pitch can make considerable difference, it looks as though it's pretty close right now.

I went from a 20X20 to a 19 X 25 with bad results. The engine seemed to be struggling too hard, it looked like it was going to rip itself out of the bed rails. Went back to the 20X20.

I would only increase pitch about one or two inches if any at all. One thing to keep in mind, when the engine is slowed down and we attempt to yield the same horsepower, the frictional loads go up on all the wear surfaces. Like driving a car in high gear all the time.