1893 Marine Steam Engineers Manual and Directory

For the non-technical side of living with Steamboats, videos and general pictures.
Rick A
Full Steam Ahead
Full Steam Ahead
Boat Name: No Boat Yet

1893 Marine Steam Engineers Manual and Directory

Post by Rick A » Thu Jan 28, 2021 4:17 pm

1893 Marine Steam Engineers Buffalo NY
by Marine Engineers' Beneficial Association Number 1 in Buffalo New York USA

https://archive.org/details/1893marines ... 1/mode/2up
fredrosse
Full Steam Ahead
Full Steam Ahead
Boat Name: Margaret S.

Re: 1893 Marine Steam Engineers Manual and Directory

Post by fredrosse » Fri Jan 29, 2021 3:56 am

Thanks so much for posting this wonderful publication. I have been an engineer in the power business since the 1960s, but relate much more to the technology presented in this book. Maybe in a previous life.
DetroiTug
Full Steam Ahead
Full Steam Ahead
Boat Name: Iron Chief

Post by DetroiTug » Sat Jan 30, 2021 3:35 am

Another good one I just got through reading is ''Old Times on the Upper Mississippi: Recollections of a Steamboat Pilot from 1854 to 1863 (1909) Kindle Edition''

It was written by a steamboat pilot about 60 years after the fact. It's a very entertaining detailed description of the life aboard, the duties, the business and the people involved.

Many remarkable tidbits, from the pay these guys received to details about the running gear, dealing with snags etc.

The book sort of explains where the term "Hooking up" came from involving forward and reverse. As I understood it, there were two valve rods off the crank for forward and reverse, but there was no linkage like a stevenson link to smoothly shift between the two, one rod was unhooked from the valve chest and the other hooked up for the opposite direction. Hence, Hooking up. If I understood it correctly.