A question of Glass?

For technical tips, questions etc. on all subjects except Engines and Boilers.
Cyruscosmo
Full Steam Ahead
Full Steam Ahead
Boat Name: No Boat Yet

A question of Glass?

Post by Cyruscosmo » Sat Jun 27, 2015 2:17 am

Hey All
I am in need of a little expert advise. I was going over the plans for my steam launch and bouncing a few scenarios around in my head when I had an unsettling thought.

Boats tend to undulate and dance to the waves in much the same way corks do... I do not have motion sickness problems so that is not what the thought was about. The thought was about the "window" I would be looking through in the enclosed part of the boat.

I have never built a boat before but I have been on many and never given this a thought before. What happens when the boat bob's and I weave? The Steam Launch I am building will be something like Annabelle. Steamboat registry http://www.steamboatassociation.co.uk/page-1117882

What kind of glass am I going to need to put in these frames? I am sure at some point in time someone will stand up and the boat will pitch and there will be a connection...

Cyruscosmo
My Grandpa told me when I was 8 or so that “You have to learn by the mistakes of others! Because you will NOT live long enough to make them all yourself.” At that age I though I had forever to learn everything... ;-)
Lopez Mike
Full Steam Ahead
Full Steam Ahead
Boat Name: S.L. Spiffy

Re: A question of Glass?

Post by Lopez Mike » Sat Jun 27, 2015 11:22 am

You have several choices.