Hand Feed Pump Plans

For technical tips, questions etc. on all subjects except Engines and Boilers.
Simon Fellows
Just Starting Out
Just Starting Out
Boat Name: No Boat Yet

Hand Feed Pump Plans

Post by Simon Fellows » Wed Dec 02, 2015 12:14 pm

As a complete beginner and having recently bought a John Winn steam engine with a view to assembling a Steam Boat, I thought a good way to learn the basics of machining would be to build the hand feed-pump I require. Does anyone know of any plans that are available (Bar Stock preferred). I'm thinking about 1" bore, but could always double sizes if this wasn't large enough.

Many thanks

Simon
steamdon-jr
Full Steam Ahead
Full Steam Ahead
Boat Name: SL Phoebe Snow

Re: Hand Feed Pump Plans

Post by steamdon-jr » Thu Dec 03, 2015 9:00 pm

another way you could make a nice looking hand pump is to buy castings from
Rappahanock Boat works or Pearl Engine Company, there are others as well.
Mike Cole
Full Steam Ahead
Full Steam Ahead
Boat Name: Blue Buccaneer

Post by Mike Cole » Thu Dec 03, 2015 9:40 pm

I made one last year out of bar stock, i will see if i can hunt out the drawing
Mike Cole
DetroiTug
Full Steam Ahead
Full Steam Ahead
Boat Name: Iron Chief

Post by DetroiTug » Thu Dec 03, 2015 10:12 pm