New Member - Boiler Question

For technical tips, questions etc. on all subjects except Engines and Boilers.
thequalifiedengineer
Just Starting Out
Just Starting Out

New Member - Boiler Question

Post by thequalifiedengineer » Wed Feb 09, 2011 7:29 pm

Greetings All,

I'm new to this forum, so in addition to asking for a bit of advice, I figured I'd introduce myself as well. My name is Richard L. Melvin, and I've been involved with the steam hobby and profession for the past 10 years or so. I am a locomotive engineer by trade, and construct live steam (ride-on) locomotives as a hobby, although I'm looking to foray into steamboat building as my next endeavor.

I'm planning on leaving the hull-building to the experts, but retrofitting a boiler, engine, plumbing, and other detail parts myself (better to keep to what I know best, eh?). Constructing a steam engine, I certainly have no problem with; imaginably shorter-term than an 8-Coupled locomotive with full Baker valve gear, and (pardon the pun) all the bells and whistles.

As far as the boiler goes, this is where I'm stymied. I've always constructed boilers for live steam engines myself, be they welded steel or soldered copper, using standard designs with calculations performed to accepted model boiler standards. Being that these engines were always run at private clubs in the Northeast US, there has been no need to have an ASME certification or inspection. Since I plan on sailing my steamboat in ponds and lakes on public parkland, I'm not sure how to approach the boiler issue.

I plan on registering the boat in Delaware, USA -- having given the state boiler code a good once-over, I can't seem to find any exceptions which might exempt a "hobby-type" boiler or marine boiler from the registration and inspection requirements of the state. Here's the web link to the DE State Code for reference:

http://www.dnrec.state.de.us/boilersafe ... /rules.pdf